Body Language

My therapist said that my heart

needs to talk to my brain more.

They need to be in agreement,

on the same page. But my heart

doesn’t speak whatever language it is

my brain does. My heart speaks in

clicks and thuds. It’s always moving,

call it body language in it’s truest form.

I teach my brain this language.

It becomes fluent, studying every textbook,

it’s grammar is perfect, it’s accent is a bit off,

but thats okay. I sit the two down together.

The brain speaks first, like it always does.

It says something about equal and opposite reaction,

we must wait to react, until we can find out

what an appropriate action will be.

My heart just nods. Brain continues,

“What do you think?”

My heart just nods. Brain says,

“Do you understand the accent?”

My heart just nods but it can not form

an articulate sentence in its own language.

It is not educated on equal and opposite reactions.

It is a Mexican farmer coming to the U.S.

You blame his lack of english skills

on where he was raised, but he still

can’t hold a complicated conversation

that won’t complicate his need to articulate

his own tongue so he just nods away all his problems.

My brain is teaching my heart its own language.

My brain is destroying body language.

Destruction in its truest form.

Leave a Reply

