The Host

I would love to say I need you,

that I would be incomplete without you,

that you are the part that makes me whole.

But I was whole before you.

I was not a malnourished child,

that weaned off starvation when you came.

I was more like a complete dinner,

laid out for guests to devour and you

were the first to accept the invitation.

I hope you enjoyed the feast.

Theres no doubt you did. You devoured it.

When you had your share,

you left, full, and happy.

And I am left. Parts of me chewed,

other parts thrown into the trash.

I am left like scraps on a plate,

washed away as if they were never there.

The plates are clean again.

I’ll go set another table for one.

Let’s see if the next person,

has the decency to help me clean up.

Leave a Reply

